More background info on the Norwegian spammer
I did some checking way beyond the search engines on the person I believe is identical to Odin on Adminshop.
He’s born 1984. About 20 years, in other words. I wonder if his father knows about this?
Pretty depraved 20 year old, I’d say, considering he wrote an article about how to make money on porn sites. Do a google search for adminshop and Odin, and you shall find.
UPDATE:
Oh, and I found an earlier version of the whois info for one of his domains on Rojisan
The phone number looks like a legitimate Norwegian cell phone number. And the rest of the address info still looks misleading but relevant to the guy I’ve been talking about.
SECOND UPDATE: Proof the guy speaks Norwegian. Here’s a post made by M0nkey
I find that M0nkey and Odin are appearing on the same forums at the same time. I don’t know if it’s one and the same using sock puppets, or if they are partners. M0nkey writes Norwegian. So far I haven’t seen Odin do that. I saw a link from a post by Odin going to a pornographic site. I killed it before it fully loaded. Don’t want an eyeful of that stuff.
Although M0nkey is definitely Norwegian, Odin does use Australian type language (mate, for instance). So it’s possible there are two guys here.
January 27th, 2005 at 11:59 pm
Hi - I just entered the fray - may be late or duplicate in posting this but the same person(s) seems to be hitting blogspot ( google )
http://texasholdemresources.blogspot.com/
I call it entire blog spam - uck,
I’ve written google he’s in violation of the tos - maybe google can help in the fight ?
just a thought .
Rob
January 28th, 2005 at 1:24 am
That’s a different spammer from the ones we’ve encountered.
I found another spamblog on blogspot. E-mailed the service. Still haven’t heard back. Hope you succeed in shutting it down.
January 28th, 2005 at 8:56 pm
As of this morning the sites still live - I’ve taken huge measures to lockdown my blog from this attack and have succedded. - sadly though, it seems I’ve drawn attention and the spammers now proceed with comment spamming me with the ads.
I had always kept open comments - even with the rel=nofollow its ugly to have this kinda stuff in my comment log. - so now I have to consider taking open comments offline.
Still, I’m keeping up with all my findings and encourage your fight! - let us know if we can assist you in any way.
Rob
January 29th, 2005 at 12:56 pm
Looks like to Norwegian started up a new site today… http://www.reffy.net/
He spamming for this site since his admishop site dropper out of google.
January 29th, 2005 at 4:39 pm
It looks like the Norwegian is still around…
80.202.225.70 - - [28/Jan/2005:20:57:30 -0500] “GET /XXXXX/XXXXX HTTP/1.1″ 403 313 “http://www.reffy.net/” “Mozilla/5.0 (compatible; Konqueror/2.2.1; Linux)”
Lots of these…. Made another complaint to Nextgentel… Can you make another call.
January 29th, 2005 at 6:28 pm
I can make another call. Probably too late today, but as soon as I can reach them. Interestingly enough, he didn’t go near my log this time.