Foiling the comment spammer

Looks like I’ve foiled the texas hold’em comment spammer for now. Hehe, not going to say how I did it…

He keeps trying to post comments, but none getting through…

4 Responses to “Foiling the comment spammer”

  1. Ruth Kristin Thu Says:

    Hi! I’m writing to you because I saw your norwegian site where you asked bloggers to tell you about their blogs. I am also a christian blogger, like you, and here is my blog adress if you are interested: rudydudy.blogspot.com

    May God bless you and let your blog be a blessing to many people!

    Your sister in Christ - Ruth Kristin Thu.

  2. ady Says:

    The same scumbag didn’t succeed in spamming comments so proceeded to bombard me with loads of referral spam instead - all of which point to the same IP: 68.167.234.66. :-P
    Other IPs which tried to spam my comments are: 207.218.184.142
    216.187.239.35
    217.160.177.124

    All with the same UA string: “Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 5.5; Windows 98; Win 9x 4.90)”

  3. Ann Says:

    Well, it’s interesting

    68.167.234.66 is a webserver, though a weird one. It identifies itself as Apache. Just that. Instantly suspect… It’s putting up a 301 error message, which means it’s moved permanently. But the forward is pointing to itself…

    The IP number is in Covad’s IP block, and the server identifies itself as h-68-167-234-66.ns3.xgforce.com

    ———–

    216.187.239.35
    is an actual proxy server!
    It serves up a 502 (proxy error) when I access it with a browser type thingie.

    It identifies itself as 216-187-239-35.ded.btitelecom.net

    The last one 217.160.177.124
    is an Apache/2.0.49 (Linux/SuSE)
    Identifies itself as: animechat.de
    I’ll send them an e-mail

  4. ady Says:

    On the 68.167.234.66 machine - that’s where all those referral spam URLs (things like 8gold, fidelityfunding, uaeecommerce, etc.) apparently lead to. But the actual referral spam comes from a variety of IP addresses.